May 17, 3 years ago

Sivali seals LV Jayaweera’ boxing tournament

Sivali seals LV Jayaweera’ boxing tournament

Sivali Central College, Ratnapura clinched the 42nd LV Jayaweera boxing championship on Monday. The tournament began on May 7 and continued for five days at Mahanama College boxing ring in Colombo and in the end it was the boys from the city of gems who ran out winners.

Sivali grabbed four gold medals, a silver medal and two bronze medals on their way to the victory. Among the gold medal winners for them were C.H.Abesingha, A.D.Chathuranga, S.L.Danawardhane and.D.T.Ravishanka.
Nugawela Central College and Pallebowela College finished second and third respectively.


Gold medal winners: C.H.Abesingha (39-41KG), A.D.Chathuranga (44-46KG), S.L.Danawardhane (48-50KG) and D.T.Ravishank (46-49KG)
Silver medal winners: M.D. Jayasooriya (33-35KG)
Bronze medal winners: G.S.Ratnathilaka (43-45KG), H.P.Rasanjana (46-48KG)

Photo Caption: Sivali Central College’s boxing squad pose to a photograph with their coaches and rest of the supporting staff


Share "Sivali seals LV Jayaweera’ boxing tournament" via

More in Boxing
Sep 20, 2 days ago

Sri Lanka Cricket to felicitate past cricketers

Sri Lanka Cricket under the guidance of Minister of Sports Honorable Faiszer Musthapa decided to felicitate 49 past cricketers, who represented Sri Lanka, prior to obtaining full membership of the ICC, as a move to honor them for the services rendere…


Sep 14, 1 week ago

MTV & ITN FM pick up TV & Radio rights to England Tour of Sri Lanka

TV and Radio Rights of the England Tour offered to MTV Channel and ITN FM, respectively. Sri Lanka Cricket wishes to announce that the Terrestrial Television and Radio Rights of the upcoming England Tour to Sri Lanka 2018 was offered to MTV Channel (…


Sep 12, 1 week ago

Sivagurunathan Memorial Trophy 2018 : Strengthening Communal Ties

During the past 7 years, the Jaffna and Colombo communities have been tied in a ceremonial bond through a celebrated cricket tournament between Jaffna Hindu College & Ananda College, Colombo, icons of the Hindu and Buddhist communities in Sri Lan…