Nov 14, 3 months ago

Inaugural Deaf T20 Cricket World Cup in India from Nov 23 Deaf T20 Cricket World Cup in India from Nov 23

Sri Lanka will participate in the inaugural Deaf T20 Cricket World Cup championship from November 23 to 30 in New Delhi, India. Eight prominent cricket playing nations namely, England, Australia, South Africa, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, Sri Lanka and host India will take part in the first ever championship.


Sri Lanka squad comprised 15 players and seven officials. Gimadu L Malkam will captain Sri Lankan team while Sumudu Lanka will be the vice captain. Jayalath Aponso and Ushantha Gunaratne are the two coaches assigned for the Lankan team.

The Sri Lanka Deaf Cricket Association (SLDCA) which is an affiliated body to the National Paralympic Committee has selected the Lankan team for the very first deaf T20 Cricket World Cup.

The team included players from across the country representing Galle, Colombo, Mahiyanganaya, Matara, Hambantota, Jaffna, Panadura, Negombo and Kalutara regions.

According to the Sri Lanka Deaf Cricket Association chairperson Anula Ranjani, Sports Ministry came to the support of the team providing with the air tickets. Sri Lanka Cricket and HNB have also pledged their support by offering sponsorships to the players.

The SLDCA appeals to the corporate sector to provide them with sponsorships to participate in this historic event. Asistance can be provided by contacting Deaf Cricket Association chairperson Anula Ranjani on tel. no 0718065944.

The Lankan squad for the Deaf T20 World Cup in India:

G.L. Malkam (Captain), Sumudu Lanka (Vice Captain), Tharaka Sampath Jayasinghe, Lakshan Fernando, Tharindra Deepika Wimalaweera, Goyum Shanaka Walgama (Wicketkeeper), Chamara Dishan, Asanka Manjula, Udaya Lakmal, Rajitha Asanka, Alenross Kalep, Ushan Lakshitha, Nuwan Hasaranga, Dinuka Sachin, Janaka Tharanga. Officials: Indrani Ariyaratne (Team Manager), Jayalath Aponso (Coach), Ushantha Gunartne (Coach), M. L. Brian de Croose (Interpreter), Mohamed Naizer (President – SLDCA), Hemajith Vajira Kumara (Secretary – SLDCA) and Rohitha Kottahachchi (Umpire)

Sri Lanka team for the first Deaf T20 Cricket World Cup in India. Picture by Saman Mendis


Share "Inaugural Deaf T20 Cricket World Cup in India from Nov 23" via

More in Cricket
Feb 13, 2 days ago

SLT speedup with Southern Eliyakanda Hill Climb

SLT speedup with Southern Eliyakanda Hill Climb 2019 on 17th Feb….! Sri Lanka Telecom (SLT), the provider of ultra-fast broadband connectivity in the country together with the Southern Motor Sports Club (SMSC), a club affiliated to the Sri Lank…


Feb 4, 2 weeks ago

Angelo Perera Completes Rare ‘Double Double’

NCC captain Angelo Perera has become the second player in history to score two double-centuries in the same first-class game. The right-hander, who played four ODIs and two T20Is for Sri Lanka between 2013 and 2016, accomplished the notable feat at t…


Jan 27, 3 weeks ago

Sarfaraz gets four match suspension for breach of anti-racism code

Pakistan captain Sarfaraz Ahmed has been suspended for four matches after accepting that he was in breach of the ICC’s Anti-Racism Code for Participants following an incident that occurred during the second ODI against South Africa in Durban on Tue…