Nov 6, 4 years ago

SLADA Championship Awards 2014

SLADA Championship Awards 2014

Sri Lanka’s motor racing season reaches its grand climax Saturday, 15 November. The cream of the country’s drivers and riders are to be honoured at the 2014 CEAT SLADA Championship Awards. The event is supported for the fifth consecutive year by the country’s leading tyre brand CEAT.

Four top awards for Best Driver, Best Rider, the Team Championship for Cars and the Team Championship for Motorbikes will be presented at a glitzy gala along with 12 awards for the best performers in the 12 race categories conducted for the championship, organisers said.

Performances at six major race meets, the Sigiriya Rally Cross, Fox Hill Super Cross, Cavalry Super Cross, Gunners Super Cross, Gajaba Super Cross and Rotherham Katukurunda Circuit Meet are considered for the CEAT SLADA Championship Awards.

“CEAT’s support to motor racing as the title sponsor of the annual championship, the role it plays as a co-sponsor of many of the race meets that make up the annual calendar, and its support to individual racers have contributed significantly to the increased popularity of motorsports in Sri Lanka,” SLADA President Yoga Perera said.

CEAT Kelani Holdings Managing Director and CEO N.C.Venugopal said: “Motor sport is about performance and endurance of man and machine, and both ride on tyres that must live up to their aspirations and expectations. This is why CEAT and motor racing are a perfect fit. CEAT is delighted to partner SLADA in its efforts to take Sri Lankan automobile sports to an even higher level in the future.”

Established by a team of drivers, riders and officials to take motorsports in Sri Lanka to the next generation, the Sri Lanka Auto-sports Drivers Association (SLADA) has introduced the latest technology in timing and equipment to meet the demands of this rapidly changing sport. To ensure that race events are a success, SLADA has nominee representatives from the Sri Lanka Army and the Sri Lanka Air Force on its executive committee, a first for any racing association in the country.

© sportsinfo | Triomedia PPL


Share "SLADA Championship Awards 2014" via

More in Motor Sports
Nov 15, 12 hours ago

Sri Lanka beat Bangladesh to retain semi-final hope

ri Lanka struggled against the Bangladesh bowling attack to post just 97/7 in their 20 overs, but came back strongly through their pacers to complete a 25-run win in Match 11 of the ICC Women’s World T20 2018. Bowling first at the Daren Sammy N…


Nov 14, 21 hours ago

Inaugural Deaf T20 Cricket World Cup in India from Nov 23

Sri Lanka will participate in the inaugural Deaf T20 Cricket World Cup championship from November 23 to 30 in New Delhi, India. Eight prominent cricket playing nations namely, England, Australia, South Africa, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, Sri Lanka a…


Nov 13, 2 days ago

DILHARA LOKUHETTIGE Charged ECB Anti-corruption Code

The International Cricket Council (ICC), on behalf of the Emirates Cricket Board (ECB), has charged former Sri Lanka international Dilhara Lokuhettige with three counts of breaching the ECB’s Anti-Corruption Code. The charges relate to the T10 Cric…