Jul 22, 5 months ago

Uncontested Office Bearers at the SLR – AGM

Uncontested Office Bearers at the SLR – AGM

The Annual General Meeting (AGM) of Sri Lanka Rugby (SLR) will be held on coming Saturday. Mr. Lasitha Gunaratne will replace Mr. Asanga Seneviratne as the President and few other office bearers appointed uncontested.

The changes to the new Office Bearers would be the addition of the Deputy President and two (2) Vice Presidents. Former Secretary of SLR Mr. Rizly Illyas will join as the Deputy President while Mr. Susantha Mendis will be the Vice President also representing Sri Lanka Schools Rugby Football Association (SLSRFA).

Office Bearers

President – Mr. Lasitha Gunaratne
Deputy President – Mr. Rizly Illyas
Vice President – Mr. Nazeem Mohamed
Vice President – Mr. Susantha Mendis
Hony. Secretary – Mr. Thusitha Peiris
Hony. Treasurer – Mr. Dinesh Perera

Elected eight (8) council members

Member Mr. Fazal Mohamed
Member Mr. Jude Pillai
Member Mr. Roshan Deen
Member Maj. Gen. Sathyappriya Liyanage
Member Mr. Shamrath Fernando
Member Brg. Sunil Ranasinghe
Member Mr. Tuan Dole
Member Ms. Thilangani Warakagoda

Appeal Board

Chairman Mr. Neil Wijeratne (Attorney at Law)
Member Brg. Japana Jayawardane
Member Mr. Lal Silva
Member Dr. Maiyah Gunasekera
Member Mr. Jayaprakash Rudra
Member Mr. S. P. De Silva
Member Mr. Jayantissa Ratwatte

Executive Committee

Chairman Mr. Lasitha Gunaratne
Member Mr. Rizly Illyas
Member Mr. Susantha Mendis (SLSRFA)
Member Mr. Dinesh Perera
Member Mr. Nazeem Mohamed
Member Mr. Tuan Dole
Member Mr. Fazal Mohamed
Member Maj. Gen. Sathyappriya Liyanage
Member Mr. Jude Pillai
Secretary Executive Committee Mr. Thusitha Peiris

Technical Committee

Chairman Mr. Ajith Abeyratne
Member Mr. Roshan Deen
Member Mr. S. W. Chang
Member Mr. Sanath Martis
Member Mr. Dilroy Fernando

Disciplinary Committee

Chairman SSP Ibrahim Hameed (Retd)
Member Mr. Shahid Sangani (Attorney at Law)
Member Maj. Gen. H.M.N. Krishnaratne (Retd)

National Selection Committee

Chairman Mr. Rohan Abayakoon
Member Mr. L.V. Ekanayake
Member Mr. Kapila Knowlton
Member Mr. Leslie De Silva
Member Mr. Nishantha Chanaka


Mr. Y. C. Chang
Mr. Hemaka Amarasuriya
Mr. Anton Benedict


Share "Uncontested Office Bearers at the SLR – AGM" via

More in Exclusive News
Dec 18, 12 hours ago

Hong Kong sporting legends announced as Laureus Ambassadors

Nine of Hong Kong’s greatest athletes have joined the Laureus family and have committed to supporting the work of Laureus Sport for Good. Laureus Academy Member and Chinese gymnastic icon Li Xiaopeng was joined in Hong Kong by Laureus Ambassadors V…


Dec 18, 24 hours ago

Mendis & Mathews stay in the fight

Kusal Mendis and Angelo Mathews have fought hard with the bat on day four at the Basin Reserve, registering Sri Lanka’s highest ever partnership against the BLACKCAPS in Tests while batting the entire day. The visitors started the day on 20/3, …


Dec 11, 1 week ago

Foundation of Goodness Join Hands with NOC

Foundation of Goodness (FoG) signed a memorandum with the National Olympic Committee (NOC) to harness and enhance training and development in the rural talent. The signing took place at the Olympic House on 5th December 2018. FoG, through their ‘Un…