J M D Indika clinches PFGP July edition by 3 strokes

http://sportsinfo.lk/wp-content/uploads/2018/07/IMG_3409.jpgJ M D Indika clinches PFGP July edition by 3 strokes

The UTE Engineering Pin Fernando Grand Prix 2018, July edition went all the way to the wire, with Indika going in to the last round 4 strokes behind the leader after 3 rounds Navinda Ranga. However, Ranga literally blew up and shot an uncharacteristic final round 77 to slip to 4th place at six under par well behind the Winner Indika who shot a final round 68 to consolidate a total of 11 under for the tournament to win from Sisira Kumara and Sanjeewa joint Runner’s up at eight under par.

The two professionals playing alongside the Amateurs as a ‘form sharpener’ in preparation for the Asian Games, underlined their experience and class with Thangaraja firing a flawless 64, seven under par final round to be 19 under par for the four rounds. Mithun Perera continued his consistency returning a final round 69, to finish on 276, eight under for the four rounds.


Youngster and Captain of the Sri Lanka Junior Team for the International Junior Championship last year, J K Januka Dilshan fired a stunning 65, six under par, final round to finish on 285, one over for the Tournament in joint 6th place. The standard of Golf was exceptional with the course in a state of repair for the better. The consistency of the Amateur Golfers keep rising up the World Amateur Golf Rankings making Sri Lanka proud, with the excellent scores returned, thanks to the continuous sponsorship of the Grand Prix played monthly, by UTE Engineering.

265 – {N Thangaraja 69, 63, 69, 64}*not in the PFGP -19
273 – J M D Indika (68, 69, 68, 68) WINNER -11
276 – {Mithun Perera 70, 68, 69, 69} *not in the PFGP -8
276 – G P Sisira Kumara (69, 67, 70, 70) B A Sanjeewa (65, 65, 76, 70) JOINT RUNNERS UP -8
278 – Navinda Ranga (67, 66, 68, 77) -6
281 – N Amarapadma (70, 70, 69, 72) -3
285 – J K Januka Dilshan (72, 73, 75, 65) G M Pradeep Kumara (75, 66, 71, 73) +1
287 – M U Chanaka Perera (74, 77, 67, 69) +3
293 – U A Ranasinghe (66, 81, 73, 73) +9
294 – M H Chalitha Pushpika ( 81, 73, 72, 68) T Akash (69, 72, 74, 69) +10

Source : Sri Lanka Golf


Share "J M D Indika clinches PFGP July edition by 3 strokes" via

More in Golf
Jul 22, 22 hours ago

Jeffrey Vandersay gets one-year suspension

Jeffrey Vandersay was given a one year suspension from all forms of international cricket, which will stand suspended for a one year period and was fined 20-pct from his annual contract fee for misconduct reported against the player during the conclu…


Jul 22, 23 hours ago

Sri Lanka Cricket bans Danushka Gunathilaka

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) decided to suspend Danushka Gunathilaka from all forms of international cricket for breaching the ‘Player Code of Conduct’, pending inquiry. The decision to suspend the player was taken following an initial inquiry conduct…


Jul 22, 1 day ago

Uncontested Office Bearers at the SLR – AGM

The Annual General Meeting (AGM) of Sri Lanka Rugby (SLR) will be held on coming Saturday. Mr. Lasitha Gunaratne will replace Mr. Asanga Seneviratne as the President and few other office bearers appointed uncontested. The changes to the new Office Be…