Dec 2, 4 years ago

MBSL, Inaugural Schools Old Boys Tournament 2014

MBSL, Inaugural Schools Old Boys Tournament 2014

A valiant all court performance by skipper, Manjula Jayaratne gave old Antonians, Wattala a handsome 36/22 win over Old Devans, Kurunegala, in the Final of the Masters Basketball Sri Lanka, Inaugural Schools Old Boys Tournament 2014 Over-35, Five – A side Tournament, concluded under lights at the MCA Courts on Sunday.

Old Sokians, Ambalangoda superbly led by 54 year old, Lalith de Silva won the Mens Over – 45 Final, beating the fancied, Old Sebastianites, Moratuwa, 16/12.

In the Mens Over- 55 Final, Old Peterites, Bambalapitiya led by Nimal Jyasuriya, snatched a 6/4 win over the Old Royalists, Colombo. The Old Royalists led 4/2 at the breather.

In the Womens Over- 28 Final, Old Paulians, Milagiriya coasted to a comfortable 20/8 win over Old Presbitarians, Dehiwela.

Men’s Over – 35 : In the Semi-Finals, Old Devans, Kurunegala beat Old Senanayakians, Colombo 19/15 (the Old Senanayakians led 6/3at half time) ; Old Antonians, Wattala beat the Old Bens, Kotahena 28/23 (after leading 10/7 at half time.);
In the Final, Old Antonians, Wattala led 21/11 at half time; the match winning shooters were skipper, Manjula Jayaratne (16 points) and Maxwell Saranapala (10 points); Nalaka Kumarasinghe (10 points) played his heart out for the Kurunegala team.

Manjula Jayaratne from Old Antonians, Wattala was adjudged as the most outstanding player of the tournament.

Mens Over – 45 : In the Semi-finals, Old Sokians, Ambalangoda beat the Old Peterites, Bambalapitiya, 18/13 (after leading 15/9 at half time), and Old Sebastianites, Moratuwa beat Old Royalists, Colombo 18/12 (after leading 8/2 at half time).

In the final, the Old Sokians, Ambalangoda after leading 12/6 at the breather, went on to win 16/12, thanks to the energetic all round performance from the 51 year Old, Piyal de Silva (10 points); The Cooray Brothers, Priya & Sriya, Samson de Mel (06 points) and Philan Fernando (06 points) excelled for Moratuwa.

Piyal de Silva from Old Sokians, Ambalangoda was adjudged as the Most Outstanding Player of the Tournament.
The teams that failed to enter the knock-out round were, Old Christ the King, Ja –Ela, Old Thomians, Mt. Lavinia, Old Issipatanians, Colombo, Old Joes, Darley Road and Old Michealman, Batticloa.

The historic tournament, the brain child of the MBSL President, Old Sebastianite, Neil Perera, participated by 13 Mens teams and 02 Womens teams, conducted over 02 days was a tremendous success. Furthermore, the tournament was conducted at the flood-lit MCA court which Neil Perera built for the MCA in 2007; He went on to be the MCA President in 2008 – 2010.

In between the oldies finals, youngsters were given a chance to display their basket ball skills. In the U-15 girls match, Lycium International, Nugegoda beat St. Joseph’s Girls School, Nugegoda 12/02; and in the U-10 boys match, Colombo Academy beat Mini Basketball Academy 20/08.

Old Sebastianite, Priya Cooray who flew down from Dubai to participate, also one of the Referees at the tournament was the Guest of Honor.

The Chief Guest was Old Peterite, former National Player, FIBA Referee, Naufer Maharoof.

© sportsinfo | Triomedia PPL


Share "MBSL, Inaugural Schools Old Boys Tournament 2014" via

More in Basket Ball
Sep 14, 4 days ago

MTV & ITN FM pick up TV & Radio rights to England Tour of Sri Lanka

TV and Radio Rights of the England Tour offered to MTV Channel and ITN FM, respectively. Sri Lanka Cricket wishes to announce that the Terrestrial Television and Radio Rights of the upcoming England Tour to Sri Lanka 2018 was offered to MTV Channel (…


Sep 12, 6 days ago

Sivagurunathan Memorial Trophy 2018 : Strengthening Communal Ties

During the past 7 years, the Jaffna and Colombo communities have been tied in a ceremonial bond through a celebrated cricket tournament between Jaffna Hindu College & Ananda College, Colombo, icons of the Hindu and Buddhist communities in Sri Lan…


Sep 10, 1 week ago

“Our aim is to do automatically qualify for the ICC WWC” – Chamari Athapaththu

The third round of the ICC Women’s Championship continues this week with four teams looking to climb out of the bottom half of the points table and fine-tune their preparations for the ICC Women’s WT20 2018. Sri Lanka host India, whilst 2018 host…