By Herbert Perera Photo | Nalin Rangajeewa

May be an image of one or more people, people standing and outdoors

A solid 96 runs, partnership for the 2nd wicket in 72 balls, between opening batsman, Duminda Wickramasinghe (46 in 40 balls, inclusive of 02 sixes and 01 four) & Sudarshana Guruge (44 in 40 balls, inclusive of 05 fours), steered Col.Henry Steele Olcott Sports Foundation, led by Arjuna Ranatunga to a convincing 22 runs win over the MCA Masters XI, in the inaugural Bandula Warnapura Memorial Challenge Trophy 20+20 Cricket encounter on Sunday, 13th February at the MCA grounds.

MCA Masters chasing a total of 150 runs to win in 20 overs was tied down by the Olcott Foundation spinners, Lal Ranasinghe (4-22-1) & Ajith Ekanayake (4-22-3)as they managed only 127 for 9 in 20 overs.
The 03 special awards were bagged by Adrian Jaakey from MCA (best bowler / 04-29-5), Duminda Wickramasinghe (best batsman) & Sudarshana Guruge (Man of the match) (both from Olcott Sports Foundation )

Awards were given away by the chief Guest Bandula Warnapura’s widow Mrs. Hemali Warnapura, his son Madawa Warnapura, MCA/President Nalin Wickramesinghe & Olcott Sports Foundation President / Gamini Swarnapala .

Chief Scores :
Olcott Sports Foundation – 149/8 (20) (Duminda Wickramasinghe 46, Sudarshana Guruge 44, Prasanna Dahanayake 22, Adrian Jaakey 5/29)

MCA Masters – 127/9 (20) (Johann Peiris 17, Chandana Mahesh 29, Nishantha Mendis 30, Ajith Ekanayake 3/22, Sanjeewa Ranatunga 2/32)

May be an image of 1 person, standing and grass

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *