Olcott Memorial Cricket Tourney to Kick Off Rahula’s Centenary Celebrations..!

Rahula College Matara will commence her centenary celebrations with the 22nd Colonel Henry Steele Olcott Memorial Cricket Tournament which will be hosted at the Uyanwatta Stadium Matara on 18th, 19th and 20th November. Rahula College which was founded in 1923 will be celebrating its centenary next year.

*The Henry Steel Olcott Memorial Cricket Tournament is conducted in honour of Colonel Henry Steele Olcott the founder of Buddhist Educational Institutions in Sri Lanka. The inaugural tournament was played in 1999 as part of the 75th Anniversary celebrations of Nalanda College.

Past and present cricketers of the eight ‘Olcott Schools’ namely, Ananda College Colombo, Nalanda College Colombo, Dharmaraja College Kandy, Mahinda College Galle, Maliyadewa College Kurunegala, Dharmasoka College Ambalangoda, Dharmapala College Pannipitiya and Rahula College Matara. will take the field on 18th, 19th and 20th.

On the 18th of November, present school boy cricketers will figure in a six a side cricket tournament followed by the semi finals, finals and award ceremony.

On the 19th of November an 8 overs per side cricket tournament will be held among the teams made up of past cricketers of the eight schools.

The semi finals and finals and the award ceremony will be held on the 20th. A large number of National Cricketers produced by the eight schools including World Cup winning captain Arjuna Ranatunga would be seen in action on the 19th and 20th.

This years tournament is hosted by the Rahula College Colombo OBA. The organizing committee headed by it’s President Sujeewa Lokuhewa, Dr Lal Ekanayake and Nalin Disanayake (President and Secretary of the Rahula OBA Sports Club), A B Gemunu de Silva (Chief Organiser) and all members of the Rahula OBA hope to make the 22nd Olcott Memorial Cricket Tournament a memorable one for all the participants and well wishers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *